Skip to content

Frequently Asked Questions – NEET FAQ

The purpose of the National Entrance Eligibility Test or NEET, in short, is to provide an opportunity to medical students all over India in getting admission to the Country’s leading medical institutions.

In this article, we are trying to provide Frequently Asked Questions about the NEET examinations. We hope that this information will be helpful to those who are taking preparation classes for the NEET test.


1. What is NEET?

NEET is the abbreviation for National Eligibility cum Entrance Test. This is a nationwide examination held in India for aspiring medical students. To get admission to India’s best medical institutions (undergraduate and post-graduate), candidates need to pass the test with a good ranking.

2. What are the types of NEET Examination, held in India?

There are two types of NEET examinations held all over India, NEET UG and NEET PG.

  • NEET UG is for Undergraduate Medical courses like BDS, MBBS, BAMS, BHMS, and so on.
  • NEET PG is for Post-Graduate Medical courses like MS (Master of Surgery), Doctor of Medicine (MD), and so forth.

3. Which Agency Conducts NEET test?

NTA or National Testing Agency conducts NEET test all over India. This agency is established in 2017 November and was recognized by the Union Council of Ministers.

4. When was the first NEET Examination held?

The first NEET test was held on 5th May 2013 across India.

5. What was before NEET?

Before the NEET test, there was the All India Pre-Medical Test (AIPMT) that was taken all over India. Besides AIPMT, many states were conducting their pre-medical examinations.

6. How many NEET-UG seats are there?

As per the latest sources, there are 1,18,316 MBBS and BDS seats are available for the NEET-UG examination all over India. Among these, 80,000 belong to the MBBS category and the rest are BDS.

7. In how many languages, NEET test is held?

There are a total of 13 languages in which the NEET examination will be held. These are English, Hindi, Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi, Malayalam, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telegu, and Urdu.

8. What is educational qualification needed to appear in NEET?

Candidate must have completed 10+2 or correspondent examination that is recognized by the Central or State board of education. The major subjects must be Physics, Chemistry, Biology, and English.

9. What are the subjects of NEET?

There are 4 sections of NEET, Physics, Chemistry, Zoology, and Botany. Each section has 45 questions.

10. What is Syllabus for NEET?

The NEET syllabus will consist with the subjects from the class 11 and 12 (NCERT approved) and the topics from Physics, Chemistry, and Biology.

11. What are the question types of the NEET exam?

The NEET entrance test consists single paper of 180 objective-type questions. Four options will be given against each question and there will be one correct answer. Each question has 4 marks and the total test has 720 (180*4) marks. For each wrong answer, 1 mark will be deducted from the total marks.

12. What is the Timing and Duration of NEET?

NEET is a three hours long examination and the timing is 10.00 am to 1.00 pm.

13. What are the Passing criteria in NEET?

For the General Candidates, securing 50% marks is the passing criteria whereas 40% is for the candidates from SC/ST/OBC category.

14. What is the age limit for appearing in NEET?

The minimum age of the candidate must be 17 years to get admission to MBBS/BDS course. Although there is a 5 years age relaxation for the candidates of Scheduled Castes/ Scheduled Tribes/Other Backward Classes. There is no upper age limit as the same was removed by the authorities.

15. How many times a candidate can appear in the NEET?

Well, if the candidate is eligible, then he or she can appear as many times as s/he wishes to appear in the NEET test? There is no limit to attempts.

16. What is the Fees structure of NEET?

General category candidates need to pay ₹1500 and OBC-NCL and General-EWS have to pay ₹1400 to appear in the NEET examination. Candidates who belong to the Scheduled Castes/ Scheduled Tribes/Physically Handicapped category, can pay ₹800 to appear in the same.

1 thought on “Frequently Asked Questions – NEET FAQ”

  1. I failed in maths which was my (optional subject) in class 12 from WB board but passed in rest 5 subjects which are Physics, Chemistry, Biology, English and Bengali with 65% and overall status is passed, am i eligible for neet?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *